Can We Help? Community Finder
Page Header Image: Grey Swirl

Mayor & Councillors

Elected Members

The City of Mandurah is served by the Mayor and 12 Councillors representing North, East, Town and Coastal Wards. The Mayor and Councillors represent a broad range of interests and possess a wealth of community and business experience.


While Councillors represent their wards, together with the Mayor and City staff, they have a responsibility to the City as a whole so that a balanced outlook can be maintained. Councillors are guided by the Councillor's Handbook, which provides background on both the City of Mandurah, and a Councillor's role within it.


For electoral purposes, the City of Mandurah is divided into four wards. Three Councillors are elected in each ward to represent the community on Council. Council members are elected for a four-year term.


Voting in Western Australian local government elections is voluntary and is one of the most important ways in which a resident can participate in community representative selection.


Members of Council have the responsibility to make all decisions on all areas of policy and budget priorities, including the level and extent of works and services to be provided throughout the year. These decisions are adopted through a majority voting system with each member having one vote. In the case of an equal number of votes, the Mayor has the casting vote.


Unlike Federal and State Parliamentarians, Councillors are not paid a salary but are provided with an annual allowance. Working full-time for the Council, the Mayor receives a modest salary and annual allowance due to the high demands of the community work. The powers of the City of Mandurah are legislative as well as administrative. The principal Act from which it derives its powers is the Local Government Act.


The Council recently voted to increase the level of fees and allowances payable to Elected Members, including the Mayor, as per the requirements and ranges set by the independent Salaries and Allowances Tribunal. The ranges of payment for Elected Members under the Local Government Act 1995 have not been reviewed for at least seven years. The allowances have been set at $67,500 for Mayoral allowance, $34,500 for Mayoral attendance fee and $27,000 for Councillors’ attendance fee.


Council meets on the fourth Tuesday of the month at 5:30pm in the Council Chambers. Your local Councillor can be contacted with your queries, issues and concerns.