Friday, 17 November 2017

Local sports stars were recognised on Wednesday night for their hard work and achievements at the City of Mandurah's annual Sports Awards.

Winners of the 2017 Sports Awards were announced at a special gala dinner at Rushton Park Sporting Facility.

More than 170 guests attended the third annual sports awards including 34 finalists from a wide range of sporting activities.

The awards aim to honour local individuals, clubs and teams who have achieved sporting success or have made a significant contribution to sport and recreation in Mandurah.

Mayor Rhys Williams said the City of Mandurah Sports Awards provide a great opportunity to recognise local sports enthusiasts and the importance they play at a grass-roots level to connect the community.

“I'm so impressed by the hard work and dedication of our volunteers and local sporting clubs. There are thousands of people in our community who are passionate about local sport,” he said.

“It’s important that we recognise the work that they do and the role they play in nurturing the talents of our future sporting greats.

“Congratulations to the winners on their outstanding performance both on and off the field over the last 12 months.”

This year the City was impressed by the number and quality of the nominations. Eighty-one nominations were received and the finalists excelled in their chosen sport across local, regional, state, national and international levels.

The winners are:

  • Club of the Year: Mandurah Magic Basketball Club
  • Team of the Year: Peel Thunder Football Club – Western Australian Football League Team
  • Sports Person of the Year: Casey Mihovilovich, Mandurah Magic Basketball Club
  • Junior Sports Person of the Year: Georgia Payne, sailing
  • Senior Sports Person of the Year: Jim Wood MBE, karate
  • Sports Person with a Disability of the Year: Raymond Ellery, soccer
  • Ken Phillips Male Volunteer of the Year: Ian Crane, Mandurah Triathlon Club
  • Female Volunteer of the Year: Kaz Salter, Fury Basketball Club
  • Junior Team of the Year: Mandurah Mustangs Junior Football Club – Youth Girls Year 7-9 Team
  • Sporting Hall of Fame inaugural inductee: Rory O’Brien, Australian Rules football

The Male Volunteer of the Year award was renamed this year in recognition of the inaugural winner in 2015, Ken Phillips, who sadly passed away recently and had a memorable impact on local sport.

The City of Mandurah recognises the benefits that sport and recreation has on the broader community and provides support through various ways, including a number of grants available to support local sport and recreation clubs and the Mandurah community to participate in sport and recreation activities. To find out more, visit