Thursday, 4 April 2019

The 2019 Junior Council Election has decided on a new Junior Mayor and Deputy Junior Mayor.


Lilli Richards from South Halls Head Primary School has been elected the new Junior Mayor with Penelope Stone form Frederick Irwin the Deputy Junior Mayor.

This year, 23 Junior Councillors nominated for the positions, with each candidate given one minute to pitch why they should be chosen for the top jobs.


City of Mandurah Mayor Rhys Williams said Junior Council is a unique initiative that gives our young people a chance to learn about Local Government and voice their opinions on things that matter to them.


“As a former Junior Councillor I personally understand the value of this special program and believe it is a great platform to nurture young leaders.


“Junior Council has certainly evolved since my time, it was established in 1985 and now consists of 38 year six students from 19 primary schools across Mandurah,” Mr Williams said.