Hon. Roger Cook, MLA, Minister for Commerce has approved a variation under section 12E of the Act effective from 1 October 2022.

General retail shops, other than motor vehicle shops (car yards), in the Mandurah local government district area authorised to be open:

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday: 8am - 9pm
Saturday: 8am - 6pm
Sunday: 10am - 5pm

Christmas Day, Good Friday, ANZAC Day: closed
All other public holidays: 10am - 5pm

Important notes: All restaurants, cafés and take-away food outlets are exempt from any restrictions.

All general retail shops must follow these hours unless they hold a certificate to trade as a small retail shop, special retail shop or small filling station (see below).

Variations to general trading hours

Small retail shops, special retail shops and filling stations (service stations) can trade outside of the general trading hours.

The following outlines the trading hours available to approved businesses:

Small retail: 24 hours, every day of the year
Special retail: 6am - 11.30pm, every day of the year
Filling stations (petrol stations): deregulated in all areas

Important note: You must apply for a certificate from the Automotive, Marine and Trading Hours Branch of Consumer Protection, to operate as a small retail shop or special retail shop.

Further information

More information about retail trading hours can be found on the Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety  website or alternatively contact us on (08) 9550 3777 or email council@mandurah.wa.gov.au